The Mysterious Absence of Google Search Box in Chrome New Tab


If you have been using the latest version of Google Chrome, a ‘new blank tab’ would greet you with thumbnails of your most visited pages, a large Google search box as well as links to Gmail, Google+ and other Google products.

 photo google_search_box_zpscb1acbca.png

As my friends received this update on Google Chrome, I was greeted by a ‘new blank tab’ that lacked the large Google search box and the other links.

 photo no_google_search_box_zps4a0b8185.png

I kept wondering why the Google Search box was absent in my browser. My friends joked that since I am a ‘Microsoft boy’ (they joke so because I have interned twice at Microsoft) , Google decided not push that part of the update to me. Turns out they were partially correct! The Google Search Box and other links at the top right corner will appear only if your default search engine for Chrome is set to Google. I have been using Bing as my default search engine in Chrome, which led to the absence of the search box in my ‘new blank tab’ in Chrome.

Mystery solved !

One thought on “The Mysterious Absence of Google Search Box in Chrome New Tab

Leave a Reply

